The seal of the Town of Claverack was adopted by the Claverack Town Board at their meeting on December 10, 1984. This was the first official seal of the town even though it had been legally proclaimed a town on March 7, 1788.
The Seal was designed in 1984 by Florence Mossman, a local resident and the then Historian for the Town of Claverack and the County of Columbia. Ms. Mossman is a graphic artist with 25 years of experience in illustration, writing, and design.
CLOVERS: The clovers were added, not because of the legend of “clover fields” but rather in the folklore tradition, the clover plant symbolizes good soil.
SHEAF OF WHEAT: The sheaf of wheat represents the first settlers who cleared the land and established a farming community.
BELL: The bell has a two-fold meaning. First it refers to the spiritual life of the early settlers and their desire to establish a place of worship. Secondly, the bell recognizes the settlers desire for education.
MILL WHEEL: The mill wheel symbolizes the grist mills and sawmills that were built along the streams –they were the beginning of industry in the Town.
SCALES AND BANNER: With the withdrawal of Columbia County from Albany County in 1786, Claverack became the first seat of county government – the first Courthouse being completed in 1788.
ROPE: The rope signifies the town’s tie to the river, when the City of Hudson was known as Claverack Landing.